An open door

This greeting was shared yesterday when I took part in the Open Door event held at The Salvation Army corps and men’s hostel in Lübeck.image1I am glad to be at an event where we can celebrate that the door is open.
The possibility of an open door can be a bad or a good thing. It depends on what is behind the door.
If, for example, I were desperate to fill up a water bottle and find a house with apartments, then I would take a chance at knocking on some doors.
If heard barking from a big dog or loud arguments I would pass by.
If I heard laughter and music, I would knock on the door and expect to find some help.

The Salvation Army wants to be a door where anyone can knock and be well received.
We always want to learn from the example of Jesus.
He said that we should never be afraid to knock on God’s door and ask for good things. Knock, and the door will open. (Matthew 7:7)

But there is another important door that Jesus talks about.
I live behind the door of my heart.
My life can be like a home that is always spring-cleaned.
Or the life behind my door can be a dirty, a messy place where I want to be left alone.

To Jesus it doesn’t matter what it looks like behind my door. He wants to come in.
In the last book of the Bible (Revelations 3:20) it says that Jesus knocks on my door.
Do I want to open?

When I knock on God’s door, I want my father in Heaven to open for me.
Now Jesus knocks on my door. Do I want to open for him?

I recommend that you do so.
Because, he says that he will come in and eat with me. And he brings the food.

As a foretaste of the party we can share with Jesus, let’s go in and out and in again through these doors and enjoy fellowship with each other and with God.
God bless us all.

Captain Ruth Hillingsberg opening the open door day.

Captain Ruth Hillingsberg opening the open door day.

Captain Eduard Hillingsberg talking with a with journalist

Captain Eduard Hillingsberg talking with a with journalist

Leave a Reply

